top of page

Have You Ever Seen Chimps' Smiles?

Can chimpanzees smile? Yes, of course! Their true smiling face is different from chimpanzees' smiling faces in TV entertainment programs, in which they bare their upper teeth. Their facial expression in which their upper teeth bared means crying in human. Their facial expression in which their lips are pouted means displeasure in human.


Chimpanzees in show business are forced to fake human-like smiling faces.


We want you to learn about the real smiling faces of chimpanzees. A satisfied and delighted chimpanzee can smile. Please take a look at the photos below and recognize the difference between these real ones and the fake smiling faces in show business.



写真左上から:

  1. アユムの笑顔(京都大学野生動物研究センター・中村美穂提供)

  2. アユムの笑顔(京都大学野生動物研究センター・中村美穂提供)

  3. アユムの笑顔(京都大学野生動物研究センター・中村美穂提供)

  4. アユムの笑顔(京都大学野生動物研究センター・中村美穂提供)

  5. アユムの笑顔(京都大学野生動物研究センター・中村美穂提供)

  6. アフリカの野生チンパンジーの笑顔(中村美知夫提供)

  7. アフリカの野生チンパンジーの笑顔(中村美知夫提供)

  8. アフリカの野生チンパンジーの笑顔(中村美知夫提供)

  9. ナツキの笑顔(林原類人猿研究センター・伊谷原一提供)

  10. ナツキの笑顔(林原類人猿研究センター・伊谷原一提供)

  11. ロイの笑顔(林原類人猿研究センター・伊谷原一提供)

  12. ギニア・ボッソウの野生チンパンジーの笑顔

  13. ナツキ・ツバキの笑顔(林原類人猿研究センター・伊谷原一提供)

  14. アユムの笑顔(京都大学野生動物研究センター・中村美穂提供)

  15. アユムの笑顔(京都大学野生動物研究センター・中村美穂提供)

  16. アユムの笑顔(京都大学野生動物研究センター・中村美穂提供)

  17. アユムの笑顔(京都大学野生動物研究センター・中村美穂提供)


#top
bottom of page